Shaking In The Garden


Hermione Johnson - Shaking In The Garden (2020)
for viola and oboe

Axel Porath, viola
Peter Veale, oboe

Janet Sinica, video and editing
Sebastian Schottke, sound direction

"Shaking In The Garden is the memory of a dream. A square lawn on a sloping hill surrounded by tropical forest with towering trees. There is the feeling of rising and falling at the same time. Everything is reaching upward. The insects are loud with their singing. The air is wet and thick but cool.

The piece has a graphic score which Peter Veale and Axel Porath have brought to life very beautifully.
Many thanks to Creative NZ for the funding and to Dylan Lardelli and Ensemble Musikfabrik for the commission."
Hermione Johnson